DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Through the eye of a loupe

My new visible dust sensor loupe and arctic butterfly (sensor cleaning brush) arrived today - I decided to have a little play around with a blip idea I had.

My wonderful better half took the shot, but struggled with the weight of the camera. To add insult to injury, the autofocus didn't want to play ball.

On the back of the camera it looked as though none of this image was in focus, but once I uploaded it to the computer I realised that the image of me in the loupe was in sufficient focus to be useable.

Processing wise, all done in CS6. Started with a slight levels adjustment, then a global Silver Efex layer using the Wet Rocks preset. I then duplicated this layer, before adding layer masks to each. I filled the layer mask on the copy (top layer) with black, then painted a little white over the reflection in the loupe, before changing the blending mode to luminosity and reducing the opacity slightly. I then did the opposite on the layer mask for the Silver Efex layer below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.