The Glowing Drawbridge!

Taken last night - very early morning - up at Old Sarum, again, to make use of another clear night and the now half-moon.

Unrestricted from the limited time exposure of 30 secs that I set myself the day before with my 'experiment', it was back to lower iso's, smaller apertures and slightly trailing stars.

LARGE

I took up the Sigma 14mm superwide I had the day before, which, because it is a full-frame lens on the full frame D700, is wider than my 10mm on the 10-24mm DX zoom.

Great! You may say but because its front element is like a massive gold fish bowl it suffers flare. Flare blobs from a half-moon? Yep! So, I cloned these out.

This is the rear view from the other side of the hillfort, compared to yesterday's and of the 5th. Salisbury's latent night-glow from streetlamps are directly behind. The Cathedral Spire is hidden by the tree, unfortunately.

Tomorrow looks like a reasonable weather-ed day and so intend to get out into the countryside for a good walk and a 'normal' landscape Blip. I need to get out, my day inside was a miserable affair with yet more drilling, knocking and banging. At times you can't hear TV or radio. I've had enough!! I did have an exhibition preview to go to earlier this evening at Salisbury Arts Centre which was a distraction and always quite pleasurable as well as helping maintain contacts with fellow artists.

Lens is Sigma EX 14mm f2.8

Just purchased online a new Samyang 8mm f3.5 fisheye for my DX D7000. Same angle of view coverage as Nikon's 10.5mm f2.8, but at 1/3rd the cost! Specific lab test report show best aperture is f5.6 and so will ideal for landscapes and night-times such as these. Delivery will be 10 or so days. It is guaranteed that I'll tell you all about it and how it performs as well as its results too, of course!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.