Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

Peacock (74 of 84)

Spoilt for choice today, but this beautiful European Peacock (Inachis io) butterfly drinking from a dandelion in front of a rusty can won through. I was wandering around the same area around Oxford Science Park that has provided material for my last three Blips when the butterfly flew across my path. I tracked it with my eyes until I saw it come to rest on some waste ground. I approached it slowly, careful to position myself so that my shadow did not scare the butterfly, and was extremely pleased to see that it was sitting in front of this rusty can.

I quite like this one. After a few mediocre Blips, I feel that I am having a bit of a flurry as I reach the end of my 50mm-a-day project.

Anyway, why did I say 'spoilt for choice', you may ask. Well, on my way home this evening, I saw a hot air balloon in the distance. As I followed my route I got closer and closer until it was right in front of me. I parked the car, jumped out and managed to get loads of shots as it approached and then passed right over my head. I have never got a good hot air balloon shot before and so this is why I was finding it tricky to choose. One of my hot air balloon pics is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.