Only a mum could love...

... or a hopeful gardener.
No guessing games here. What you see is second year mullein plants that will put forth a 4 to 5 foot tall flower stalk each by mid-summer. You gardeners probably already identified them.
I realize they do not look all that well right now after sitting under heavy feet of wet, cold snow for the past few months. Yet, once the summer sun strikes those furry leaves they will flourish.
This week... well next week, after the coming 6 days of rain that begins tonight & ending with the predicted 1 to 3 inches of snow on Wednesday next, I shall dig them out and transplant them very carefully-- without breaking the single taproots.
They will go into my newly envisioned east side Wild Garden. No more cutting the grass on that side of the house in future. The goal of nearly no grass is getting closer realization!
Ah now, that's what I call real gardening!
[The sound you hear is me patting myself on the back.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.