artoo

By artoo

Do Not Disturb

My poor old cat. He's 18 and very elderly. He sleeps most of the time now, and if we accidentally leave one of our bedroom doors open he likes to sneak in and snuggle under the duvet. I found him today under my daughter's duvet. However, today I was not going to move him as I was feeling sorry for him. Today was his annual checkup and vaccination at the vets. I'd been warned a year ago that he was starting to show signs of either thyroid or kidney problems, and that one or the other would probably finish him off. Since then he's been gradually losing weight, and he really is a bag of bones at the moment. Today the vet confirmed that he's lost about half his body weight in a year, which is not good. However, I had thought that there would be nothing that could be done, due to his age, but I was told that might not be the case. The vet has ordered a blood test to see if it's the kidneys or the thyroid that are the problem - if it's thyroid she will be able to give us tablets to help; if it's kidneys there's not a lot to be done but some diet changes may make him more comfortable.

So given he'd had the stress of a visit to the vets and having blood taken,I wasn't going to kick him out of my daughters bed today"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.