Morning Tea Break

I had physiotherapy on my leg again this morning and on my way home stopped off for a short walk around the city. Once again I am blipping the 'Giant dancer festival's stunning finale' art work.. I did take a number of different shots but being such a gloomy damp day they didn't turn out that wonderful.

The Art Work is now finished. My blip April 8 I said it was finished but noticed the day after he was still putting on the finishing touches.

I used this shot today as it shows workmen on a brake and also the wonderful New Regent Street.

New Regent Street is made up of pastel-hued shops in Spanish Mission style terraced architecture. When it was established during the Depression, New Regent Street was an anomaly in that the entire street was built as one commercial unit – something unprecedented in 1930s’ New Zealand.

The Earthquake damage to the street included cracked and fallen plaster ceilings, shattered windows, broken bricks in the ground-floor facades, warped floors at ground level and a small sinkhole at one end of the street. The clock on the corner of the historic street was frozen at 12.51. Luckily there was no major structural damage to the street and now most of it has been repaired and many shops have happen up again.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.