FoundWalking

By FoundWalking

Projection

I pulled in beneath the big empty screen. I came late. It didn't seem to matter, no one else was there. I hooked the speaker to my window. I'd seen parts of the show some I had forgotten. There was the part where I was the the new kid again in grade school. There was that snow storm in Chicago in '69. I forgot about the house in Virginia and bell bottoms. The plot thinned out in college. Just as well.

There was the girl in the apartment down stairs, the wedding in her sister's garden, a long anxious night at a hospital, an emergency C-section. It turns out OK. Cats that lived out the last of their nine lives. The first house. Funerals. Mothers and brothers. Loosing the house. Moving.

A voice crackled over the speaker and announced next week's feature. I'd have to come back to see how the story ends. I returned the speaker to the post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.