A real Mini parked in Munlochy. Nice one too. If you like that sort of thing. Makes the German ones look what they are - huge!

Was up early, as I suspected the dawn would be a good one after all of yesterday's rain and grim. Lots of atmospheric scenes, as the sun climbed and burnt off the early mists. But I like this humble wee beast more. Despite not being a car person.

I will confess that my first car was (at the time) a twenty year old Wolseley Hornet MkII. Which was basically a Mini with a boot that stuck out a little at the back, and had a fancy grille on the front. The Riley Elf was near enough identical, save the badge.

Inside it had leather seats and a little walnut 'dash' around the speedo etc. And it also had the optional luxury item of seat-belts fitted! If I'd wanted to, I could have removed them and legally driven it without them. It wasn't a legal requirement to fit them back when it was made (circa 1966), or wear them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.