Sprout lover

By robharris35

Happy New Year

There is almost a Christmas Eve type feeling in town tonight as people gear up for Khmer New Year, one of the most important festivals of the year in Cambodia. People in the office were on wind down, there were fewer bad drivers on the street and baristas were more jovial than normal.

It's become almost comical now how often I go into Brown on my way home. Generally I am greeted by a chorus of speculation and chatter about whether I will be having a hazelnut frappe or blueberry smoothie. Always 'grand' size and ideally accompanied by a spoon for proper enjoyment. Add to the mix a pumpkin muffin, on offer by evening time. But NEVER warmed up, as is standard practice here. It's a source of pride amongst the staff when they can inform one of their colleagues of my very predictable habits...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.