Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

Bloomin Marvellous

Had a Choice of photos today. After a morning of work today with this chapter of the dissertation coming along nicely I took a break to meet my mum for lunch. Then we popped along to the local gallery where they had on display a knitted garden called 'Bloomin Marvellous'. This is an intergenerational exhibition where over 2,500 knitters and crocheters worked with participatory artist Pauline Stanley to create a garden.

This photo is simply of the Picnic part of the exhibition complete with knitted cakes, sandwiches, fruit, even plates of scotch eggs!!!
The rest of the exhibition had a pond with wildlife and frogs in it, had a greenhouse with even knitted packets of seeds and a stereo. There was knitted everything you could find in a garden - scarecrows, birds on trellis and bird tables, vegetable patches with a whole range of vegetables. Just an amazing array of knitted items! What was great about this project is that it grows as it moves round the country - each place it visits groups of knitters are encouraged to come along and knit things to add to the garden. Even a knitathon before it leaves to knit a poppy to create a poppy field to commemorate the 100 year anniversary of world war 1. As my mum is a keen knitter she will be encouraging her craft group to take part.

A really pleasant day today so far! Just need to crack on with my dissertation for the rest of the afternoon - only trouble is Maisie is asleep on my lap at the moment! Oh what to do! May have to close my eyes too for a short nap!

Happy Friday everyone.

P.S apologises for me using my phone to take photos as it was an exhibition I didn't think we would be allowed to take photos! So had to rely on my phone. May have to visit again and take my camera! Maybe my only chance at capturing a blue tit!!! At least a knitted one will keep still!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.