JustSally

By JustSally

Not what we planned

Normous was playing golf again today so George and I made plans to go to a steam museum down in Hampshire. It was a thirty mile drive, but down the beautiful A3 through the spring sunshine, it was no hardship. But when we arrived at our destination we were greeted with a sign saying "Closed today". I had misread the website! It was a good job Normous wasn't with us, he would have been furious. We pottered on through country lanes doing what my father-in-law used to call "going for a walk in the car". I didn't have a map, so we found ourselves in all sorts of interesting little towns and villages. We stopped at a farm shop for lunch and a bit of shopping, and then nearer to home at The Silent Pool near Albury because I wanted to see how much damage there had been in the flooding. Paths were closed because of damage, but it is still a beautiful place. There are stories of murders and hauntings here, but on this sunny day there was no menace.
George didn't seem unduly disappointed at how the day turned out. What I enjoyed most was having the time to talk together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.