stujphoto

By stujphoto

Delapidated Barn

I have visited these derelict farm buildings on a couple of occasions ( 24.01.14 and 24.02.14 ) previously but knew there was one more shot that I was particularly keen to get. It’s in a room where there are rafters that have fallen down but there is a particular piece of farm machinery that I thought was quite interesting. I am not quite sure what it is, maybe a hopper or something like that. Because of the fallen rafters it is particularly difficult to get a clean shot but there are maybe two or three points in the room where you can, with a wide angle lens, get a reasonable composition. It was nice bright day so the was light streaming in from the open doorway, the hole in the roof so although I did bracket my exposures to use HDR technique, I could possibly have got away with working on one underexposed shot. It had to be a monochrome, of course, because there were elements like a very dirty yellow can which would have destroyed the atmosphere of dereliction and decay that I was trying to create.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.