Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Duct Tape Camera

Hmmm......I didn't think that I would ever have to introduce my trusty little duct tape camera to the blip world.

Tonight however, I do.

My husband gave me this nice little point and shoot camera the first Christmas that we were married. I was thrilled. Beyond thrilled. This little camera was an instant upgrade for me back in 2002. I took the leap from film to digital and I never left home without it.

Hence the name, "Duct Tape Camera". Up until this last August of '09, my trusty little camera was still on a roll sporting a daily accessory...one nice and sturdy piece of duct tape. You see, it didn't bother me when my kids grabbed my little camera to shoot pictures because I wanted them to have the opportunity to use a camera and have fun with it. Little by little and drop after drop after drop, the tiny little screws slowly began popping out one by one. The duct tape was like magic and I was so impressed with the quality and durability of this little camera.

THEN, I got my fancy camera. My Nikon D60 camera. The camera that blew my world right open and intensified my love for photography 110%. Duct tape camera has taken a back seat to fancy camera and it's been a long long long ride in the back.

Until tonight. My little point and shoot had to come out of the woodwork and perform a task that only my fancy camera has had the privilege of performing......it had to take my blip photo for the evening.

I will admit it. I am now a camera snob. I was instantly frustrated this evening with my little camera and its lack of clarity, focus and overall pizzazz. Big fancy camera has a bit of a lens issue tonight and will be making its first visit to camera world for possible repairs tomorrow morning.

Moral of this story. I need to respect the little point and shoot. It is my back-up because it has been dependable for 7 years. With a little added sharpness and definition from photoshop, I think that it took a pretty decent photo for me.

I will just make due with what I have......no sense sitting around feeling sorry for myself!

The End.

(oh and p.s. My Mom made these little Christmas Carolers from scratch years and years ago when I was just a little girl. This is my first Christmas with them in my own house. They have been gifted to me. I love them!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.