Grand Circle

My last day working with see me Scotland today and very busy it was, inputting data from the conference last week. I popped out at lunchtime to see if a print I bought was ready (which it wasn't) but I saw that the Panopticon was open, so I went in.

You might have seen it on the Restoration TV programme a few years ago. I've been in a few times on special open days where they've done a stage show inspired by WWI recruitment routines. But today there were only some of the enthusiasts who swooped on me enthusiastically, so I bought some postcards and made my excuses and went back to work. It's tiny, by the way, if you are measuring it against any modern auditorium; I cannot imagine what it was like with 1500 people squeezed in...

Incidentally, the sweet shop downstairs was selling Chelsea Whoppers. I thought I was a connoisseur of treats, but that's a new one on me... Any ideas?

I was sad to say goodbye at the end of the day, but I've been promised dates for drinks and lunch (maybe not at the same time?).... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.