The Painter and the Poet

This evening saw the official launch party of Marcelle House, a new artist studio complex in Alloa.

And Karen Strang, ex Glasgow School of Art, (pictured) hosted it.

This new studio complex owes a lot to Karen’s organisational and persuasive skills – nearly half the studios are occupied by ex students from Glasgow school of Art. She has persuaded some to travel from Glasgow and north Lanarkshire to Alloa, a town that is busy regenerating itself and property is still cheap to rent.

The evening included music and a poetry reading by Gary Mackenzie (right).

Her ambition is to turn this studio complex into a mini Glasgow School of Art.

I saw many familiar faces but there was one I couldn’t put a name to though she recognized me.
“ I’m sorry, I know I have met you before.”
“Yes, I was your model on Wednesday night.”
“Oh, I didn’t recognize you with clothes on.”

Ooops!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.