cupcakes and jellytots

By featherduster

"fools and horses"

So, the story goes that last year I decided to put money on a horse for the Grand National based on how its name would sound on the news later that night. Torn between Colbert Station and Aurora's Encore, I decided to back the grey. A few hours later, I sat and watched Aurora's Encore cross the line at 66-1!!!!! :(

This year, I had to redeem myself so I employed the same thought process. There was just one problem - about half of the field this year would have sounded good on the news! I also put money on horse number 14 (favourite number) and the one with AP McCoy on board. This year, he was on horse number 14 and its name was Double Seven! A sign...?! :)

In the end, my rank outsiders fell early, McCoy recovered from an early mistake and I'm so glad I watched BBC Breakfast this morning where the sports presenter liked the look of Rocky Creek because I ended up with a 3rd and 5th place, winning a grand total of £8!!!! haha!

As for the 2014 winner - does its name sound good on the news? "Pinoet de Rae" - at the time I said no, but it's grown on me and the more I hear it, the more I find myself thinking "yeh, that's a national winner sounding name!"

Oh well, back to the drawing board for next year!

# Fools and Horses - John Sullivan #

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.