intothehills

By intothehills

Flag Day*

Making the most of the forecast we were out early this morning. Orton is a village of about a hundred houses (total guess - I've never counted) - but at least four that we walk past every day fly flags. Nicely the flags change for saint days & festivals - but today, against a fantastic sky, in quite a stiff breeze, the flag of the union looked fabulous.

The Blip was taken for aesthetic reasons - but became apt as my day progressed. Watching Billy Bragg on Question Time over breakfast followed by a meet up with the excellent Fenner to drink coffee and in a truly middle aged man way talk about comic books and politics today, my recent physical inaction has given me too much time to ponder on the injustices of our society, and to be fair, how little I do to counter them nowadays. Things that have simmered under the surface, held down by the weight of estate's, trials and lifes onward rush now have time to break free. I can still remember the young man who was going to change the world, who stood up for what he believed was important, and I'd like to think he's not lost yet.

* A musical Flag Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.