Marstonmusin

By JennyD

Jack The Treacle Eater

I went to East Coker today, just outside Yeovil, to take pictures of the very picturesque almshouses. I got the shots. I visited the church which was dank, smelly and unappealing and after a lunch stop at the Hellyer Arms headed for home via Barwick to avoid the football crowds flocking into town from Bournemouth. I screeched to a halt when I suddenly spied "Jack". Upon investigation it is one of four follies belonging to the Barwick Park Estate each sitting on four boundaries. Jack is adjacent to the eastern boundary and is listed Grade II.
It comprises a monumental rubble stone arch surmounted by a Ham stone ashlar circular tower with a battlemented parapet and a conical stone roof. The whole structure is surmounted by a winged lead figure of Mercury.
A timber door (on the opposite side to my shot) is set in the side of the tower and is approached by an open rough stone staircase ascending the shoulder of the arch. The internal walls are lined with nesting boxes for pigeons and/or doves.
The name is said to derive from a runner who carried family messages up to London and trained on treacle. Maybe he ran up and down the stairs for practice. Rather him than me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.