Life's tangled skein

By atp

Sir Robert Peel

I was in Glasgow today for a further audition for the Commonwealth Games opening ceremony. We are under a promise of secrecy, so I can’t tell you much of what we did, but I will say that all auditionees had the chance to make prize fools of ourselves in a supportive environment. And while I won’t claim to be good at making a prize fool of myself, I certainly have lots of experience!

On the way back home, I stopped off at George Square. There is a statue of Sir Robert Peel there, he was the British Prime Minister from 1834-1835 and from 1841-1846. He is best known, perhaps, for creating the modern British Police force.

But in Glasgow, he’s generally known for being the guy whose statue always has a seagull on its heid. I have no idea why, but there always seems to be a seagull there.
Today was – as you can see – no exception!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.