Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Selfie

If politicians can do it, so can I. I went into Paris and had a lovely lunch out with my old friend Siriki who I had not seen for ten years. We found a little restaurant off the Boulevard St Michel and put the world to rights for a few hours. We go back a long way. He came to France from the Ivory Coast 30 years ago but still maintains a financial responsibility for the extended family back home. My understanding of African politics and culture comes mostly from him. After lunch we wandered down the banks of the Seine and sat outside the Centre Pompidou watching the street entertainers. Earlier, I revisited Notre Dame which I had not been inside for twenty years or more. I could have posted photos of the stained glass, a bateau mouche or strangers on a train. I have noted the furore over the Facebook site, which has now been taken down, that took observational photos of women eating on the Tube in London. There was to be a protest picnic today I believe. This is both a feminist and a privacy issue. My photo was quite innocent but would have theoretically contravened the strict privacy laws over here. I have a feeling that the issue of who and what you can photograph in public places will run and run.
I am still a bit hung over from yesterday's drive. I slept in the train on the way into Paris and on the way back and had 40 winks in the cathedral as well. It is a very early start tomorrow so it is an early night for me tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.