Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Being 5

Had a marvelous shoot in the morning for a bat mitzvah on the cusp of 13. On location at the beach and pier. Some favs from the 1400 proofs. Neither she nor I could stop! Looking forward to her big days next month, the rehearsal, changes of beautiful outfits, portraits, lunch and evening party. It has it all I think I've said before. Funny how a part of one's business just grows when you made no measure to send it in a certain direction. Does that no against all business learning. You have to know where you're going. Yes, but sometimes life does come to you. Here, from referral to referral amongst the great Jewish lawyer community in LA. So grab it.

What an age I love! Callum really is blossoming into an utterly sweet boy. I feel so overwhelmed at times with his growing personality, giddy even, the things he's drawn to, how nothing will come between him and his wanting "to be an artist when I grow up". How he'll paint and draw endlessly for hours, abstract shapes and colours and how home is a burgeoning exhibition hall for all his framed works. A fantastic support around the house when it's often just the 3 of us, going to run and get me cough sweets (though I think that might have something to do with the fact he wants one too. But, I digress...) And he has a deep love of friendships. Thinks of friends who've left his school a year before, wanting to reestablish friendships with them, loving the new and younger friends he's brought under his wing. They just get each other's jokes. Want to build and create together at school. I shall miss this place. The change is coming soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.