Off shore.

I don't ever remember seeing so many supply boats moored off the shore in Aberdeen, waiting to get into harbour to load up and be off again to the platforms in the North Sea.

So despite an inspirational day at the SNP Spring Conference in the Exhibition Centre which included a fantastic fringe meeting organised but the Academics for Yes" group which now has over 150 members (and at which Professor Bryan MacGregor of Aberdeen University completely demolished the deeply flawed Westminster Scottish Affairs Select Committee Report on Scottish Higher Education) as well as an inspirational speech from Alex Salmond (which included well deserved promotion to Cabinet rank for one of my deputy ministers, Angela Constance as well as for Shona Robison ) this outdoor image from the day is the one I wanted to blip.

It speaks volumes about the high level of activity in the oil industry in Scotland ( despite what the scaremongers say) and it is also is , for me, a haunting image. I have never, I am sure, been able to photograph 16 sizeable ships in one place before.

Worth viewing LARGE HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.