JoMoMMS

By JoMoMMS

More Retro Football

After an evening enjoying tales from the 1st division of Scottish football in the 1960s this is a dip into the history of North Uist .
A few months ago I attended a wedding in Orkney - the daughter of a very good friend from Uist was getting married to the son of the man who was the manager of this team. Yes, I am getting old.
Cathal MacAskill was a very popular Police sergeant in Lochmaddy. By that stage he had decided to retire from playing and got involved with managing the local team.
A few days ago this photo came through the post taking me back about 30 years. So this is a photo of an archive photo.
Sadly two of the people in the photo are no longer with us. Hard to believe. One of them was on my class in school.
About half of the team are still living in Uist, two are now living in Lewis and the rest are scattered around Scotland.
I don't see many of these guys very often but for a number of seasons we were a team with a lot of shared experiences, including one memorable tour of the north of Scotland under the guardianship of Cathal.
Whenever I meet one of this team at an airport or on a ferry to the islands, the banter and the nonsense starts immediately. That's why I love team sport, at every level.
I am the guy with the long hair and bandage on my knee at the front. I forgot to smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.