Cherry Blossoms Street Festival

8 hours on assignment; an estimated 100,000 attendees at the festival; 700 some pictures down to 250 through ruthless editing; a multitude of possibilities for blip. But I'm tired, my busted knee hurts, and I really like Animés, so here you go :)

I covered the J-pop section of the festival so my ears are still ringing too, but the tunes were catchy and I found myself hopping along with all the other tweens ;) The phenom of Japanese girl groups is interesting to me: I guess somewhere it fulfills a man's strange fantasy of young ladies dressed up in little girls clothes, singing songs in cartoon like voices...

Downtown DC was a mess today: traffic gridlock for all the people trying to catch the parade, the festival, the blossoms - including road closures for all these events, which didn't help a bit. I hike some 20 blocks until I was able to find a taxi to get me home.

And I get to join the fray tomorrow and perhaps get close to the trees… or so I hope. I must be crazy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.