The Challenge of your life

In training again for the Caledonian Challenge, this time with a planned 35 mile walk (although it turned into about 36 to 37 miles) from the outskirts of Edinburgh to Linlithgow and back along the canal path of the Union Canal.

The Caledonian Challenge tag line is 'The Challenge of Your Life' and the training certainly has been challenging for me! I really really hate heights so you can imagine the immense joy that I had when we arrived at the Almond Aqueduct which is a 130m long bridge carrying the Union Canal 23m over the River Almond. Even worse was that I knew I'd have to walk back over it again after we had walked 30 miles.

I got some brave pills on the return journey (probably caused by the two bags of Skittles and several trail mix bars) and managed to peek round one of the centre struts to capture this shot from the bridge along the valley - it makes me sick just looking at it now!

All this effort is to raise funds for a charity called Foundation Scotland, we have a target of £1600 and we're about 25% of the way there now so as well as doing the training we are busy raising funds. If you feel inspired by my bravery in going over this bridge, or even by the amount we have walked in training so far (we've covered the equivalent of John O'Groats to Lands End just training) then you can make a donation on the Caledonian Challenge website http://www.caledonianchallenge.com/teams/TheCRPilgrimsReturn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.