Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Overflowing

I see this is the at least the third time I have used this title but it does fit the conditions today so well.

I was hoping to get a shot of the steam trains that were around for Steamfest but I got shooed away from the tracks by a nasty man who identified himself as Donald Duck. You're trespassing he said. Beat it he said. Who are you I said. Donald Duck he said. I lost my charm and got annoyed and went away. I am boiling up some eye of newt and hair of a dog and he will surely grow a boil on his nose by tomorrow.

My shot of a train from the station didn't cut the mustard so I drove myself down to Newcastle baths (like a lot of other Novacastrians) to watch the high seas. Southern gale force winds have whipped up the seas and they are most impressive at the moment. Beaches were closed.

You can see a man standing in the Canoe pool. You could have surfed in there today. There were even a few hardy souls in the main Ocean baths. The life guard on duty was warning bathers to stay away from the edges. Frankly I was surprised they let them in with the huge waves breaking over the edges. Still hopefully no one was hurt and it would have been a bit of an adventure. See here if you are interested.

Oh and this was taken with my old B + W 10 stop filter. I lost a spring in my Lee filter holder so can't use it at the moment. The colour cast caused by the B + W was completely fixed with autotone in PS so this is true colour to today. How good is that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.