Happy Palm Sunday

It's been a lovely day in DB and our Palm Sunday service was wonderful and thought provoking! Paster James got us all to do something I'd NEVER done before and shout out the greeting that the people welcoming Jesus to Jerusalem shouted out and cried out!

We used our loudest voices and it was really powerful. We read all four gospel versions and he also pointed out that it was the cloaks that were more significant than the palms. Check it out for yourself. Intrigued I was ;) This particular Sunday really should be called 'Cloak Sunday'! But somehow the early churches focused on the branch waving and that then became the tradition. We also gave out palm crosses upon my suggestion, yay! Such a lovely childhood memory for me.

Thought I'd take a picture of some palm trees ... Which I love. These are right by our church. Perhaps I should have looked for people with cloaks ;-)

We then headed to the Plaza to our fabulous local Chinese for a very satisfying dim sum lunch with friends. Then home for an afternoon siesta to make up the sleep deficit from last night.

Rest of the day was spent with the boys and giving them loads of instructions to look after the house while we are away. They're going to clean and cook AND wash up!!! Yeah right .... well they'd better!

Tomorrow Martin and I are off the Tokyo. My first time and I can hardly wait. To say I'm excited would be a major understatement!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.