Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Dad in his heyday

I had a shock this morning. I was looking at the numerous photos of my contacts on flikr and these photographs of my father popped up. Unknown to me my brother had uploaded them many years ago. My father was an intelligent, kind, complex man. For those of you interested in sport he was the middle son of Syd Nicholls who was a Director of Cardiff City when they reached the F.A. Cup final in 1927. Along with his better known brother, Gwyn Nicholls, Syd was also a proficient rugby player and was part of the victorious Welsh team that beat the New Zealand team in the first match in 1888. The Gwyn Nicholls Gates still grace the entrance of the Millennium Stadium (formerly Cardiff Arms Park) .
Although my father loved rugby he never followed in his father and uncle's footsteps as a player.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.