Gamelands Pond in Spring

And then the weather suddenly turned hot and summer-like, with temperatures nearing 80 degrees F (about 27 C), in a warm spell expected to last just a few days before the possibility of snow again early in the coming week. We made a morning visit to the gamelands above our house: my husband jogging, me walking with my camera at the ready.

At one of the beaver ponds, a half-dozen Canada geese surveyed a floofy-haired female merganser with some level of suspicion. The pines were green and the ponds were all full of water; bursting with it, in fact. And even better, they were also full of salamanders and amphibian eggs. Lots of peeping will be going on here shortly. When the peepers are peeping, the din can be nearly deafening. It's hard to believe such tiny frogs can make such a big racket.

As I walked down one of the hills, surveying the blue sky above me and the green woods around me, I got that happy feeling that you get in springtime, especially as a child: a feeling of hope, of endless possibilities. That I could go anywhere, do anything, have a great adventure at the drop of a hat. Ah, spring! :-)

The song for the day is one whose lyrics speak to that feeling of endless possibilities: Fleetwood Mac, Don't Stop (Thinking About Tomorrow).

P.S. This was also the day on which I spotted my very first dragonfly of the year! Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.