Ancestors

One of the things I've enjoyed from time to time on blip have been some of the stories and pictures of blip folks ancestors and it struck me that I hold very few images of past generations other than in my head. Today my sister Kate passed this on by email, sent from some distant relative who is connected into the family again via Facebook. (so despite my grumpings at times t'internet isn't all bad).

So this is my maternal grandparents, probably over 25 years ago. Nana and Grandad to me. I could write a book on them and my memories of them, but today what stuck me as I looked at this was how much they influenced me as I grew up and of course loved me (though I didn't see it like that then I guess), the other thing is that this photo is taken in the parlour!

The parlour was like the holy of holies - and being a very religious couple that is saying something!. In all my years of visiting and staying with them - into my 20's I think I probably was only allowed to sit down in there a handful of times. It was kept perfect, tidy and probably only used when important non family visited (the church minister and the doctor) I still occasionally doing home visits at work come upon this institution in some of the older folks homes. Theirs was a simple humble home and giving up a whole room set aside like this was no small thing.

I know tidying up an old image isn't exactly in the full spirit of blip, but I think I like the idea of putting some of these memories here, I'll introduce some more but no more than once a week and probably less.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.