Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Little Venice, London

Carrying on my Narrow Boat theme from yesterday, today I went to London to visit a friend who lives near Little Venice. Dolly came with me on the train and she enjoyed all the sights and smells of London. This was the first time I have taken her to London, although I have taken her on the train before. She is always very well behaved and she usually curls up in my arms and sleeps most of the journey.

We walked along the canal to and from my friend's home. Little Venice is the area where the Regents Canal and the Grand Union Canal meet.

It was a beautiful sunny day and we stopped for coffee at the Waterside Cafe, London's only floating cafe. We also browsed at some books at the newly famous 'Word on the Water, the London Bookbarge'

I was particularly excited to see the Bookbarge as I had just read about it in a blog about '10 Inspiring Bookshops around the World'. Word on the Water is #5 on that list. I've decided that I need to use this list as my 'Bucket List' as I plan future travels. With the find of today I have now visited 2 of the 10 bookshops on that list!

After my visit today, I am gravitating even more towards spending time on a Narrowboat. My next step really needs to be a short holiday. I wonder where that step may lead me. Is anyone interested?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.