CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

The Crescent has opened

A glorious Spring day with warm sunshine and blossom everywhere. Unfortunately in the morning I had to attend a busy Children's Panel with three difficult cases. It is never easy deciding children's futures but we have considerable training and there are three of us making the decision. We have many reports from the professionals involved so we get a lot of input to help us. I can cope with this much easier than last week at the Food Bank.

At home I got news from the Professor, who supervises the heart drug trial I wrote about last week, that I have been accepted on the trial. This will mean several months of tests and consultations to monitor my progress. Of course, I may not actually get the drug since a third of those involved will get a placebo but will not know which one we have.

I needed to then visit my Doctor's Surgery and lo and behold the new Crescent Centre had opened yesterday. I blipped about it during the construction back in February here It is a beautiful facility compared to the old sixties, run down buildings previously in use. The new Centre now houses the Surgery, Health Clinics, Social Work, Library, Post Office, shops and Community spaces. It cost several million pounds and complements the beautiful new school opposite. They have even 'planted' a tree in its honour. We are grateful to Dundee City Council for being so forward looking in their plans.

If you would like to see a couple more full shots of the Centre, see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.