Fire and Ice, by Robert Frost

Lent, Day 36

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I've tasted of desire
I hold with those who favour fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.


Can't say I like this poem much - feels angry and even bitter. Appears to be speaking about how awful we can be to each other - destroying even those we love by either the fire of desire, or the iciness of hatred held onto.

But, partly because I needed a photo of fire, we held our first barbecue of the year - the six of us. The ice was in the cocktails my son made with limoncello and prosecco. Felt like celebrating after handing over all my Mum's financial affairs to her solicitor - who is a lovely lady - so grateful for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.