todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Preserving history...

Blip has opened my eyes to sights I have been overlooking for too long.

Tonight's blip is Newark Castle, nestled behind one of the Clyde's last remaining shipyards, in a rather beautiful and scenic spot in Port Glasgow.

As the castle came into view, I noticed the scaffolding and it brought back a very happy memory.

Ten years ago, I went to Athens to stay with a chum, taking in the 2004 Olympics and the wonders of the city. And what a city! I'll never forget getting to the top of the Acropolis and seeing the breathtaking Parthenon. The ancient building was shrouded in scaffolding and, to me, it was made even more beautiful.

The clean lines and symmetry of the metal frame looked very much at home, as it enveloped and supported the historic structure.

Scaffolding isn't just a means to an end. It's an art installation. Well, I think so...

Port Glasgow might not be Athens, but tonight, it's castle, clad in metal, is just as significant and breathtaking.

Today outof10? An historic 8.7 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.