tourism

No work today which couldn't wait a few hours, so we headed off to the Borders.

Interesting. My vague itinerary started with Melrose Abbey. On the way we saw lots of civil engineering in connection with the re-instatement of the Borders railway. I hope it becomes a big success for the area.

I ended up parking at Melrose Rugby Club - where the world famous annual 7-a-side tournament took place at the weekend. They were still removing the empty beer kegs...

Had a nice chat with the club member who was on duty to keep the public out of the car park. He'd let us in after he'd seen my obvious former rugby player physique.

I was at the 7s about 30 years ago, but my only prior visit to the town was to visit the Abbey with my parents as a child. Nice to be back 50 years later.

Then we headed back north to Rosslyn Chapel. I'd been there 3-4 years back, when conservation work was in full swing. Scaffolding everywhere, and a canopy roof above the original to help the building dry out.

Wonderful to be back today and see it at its best. A real gem. It got Blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.