Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Coloured Shadows

This morning I was taking a meditational service at the Chapel of Unity in Coventry Cathedral. Between 0735 & 0900 I had taken 11 photos within this little church.

The sun, unhindered by clouds burnt the ought the coloured glass of the Baptismal stained glass window this morning casting coloured shadows that most people would dismiss as nothing more than a "oh that's nice", but to me it was something that could not be ignored.

Seeing coloured glass reflected onto other surfaces other than the floor made a change. However, bearing in mind the distance of the colour casting was from one side of the Cathedral to the other, meant that the sun was at it's most brilliancy.

Most photographers would take picture of the window, because with this intense light the detail in the glass would have be superb. Also, the sun-flare would be much more defined because of the angle of the background light. I have admit I took the obvious image.

When I came turned my back on the window in this area the colour casting on the wall over the darken entrance to the Chapel of Unity was breath- takeningly to good to be true. The picture had to be taken, because more often than not these additional coloured shadows are so dim in intensity that they are almost impossible to photograph. How do I know this? Because I have been trying to photograph these patterns, shadows for the last 20 years with very mixed results, due to the light demissioning over a short period of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.