Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Hobson's choice

Thomas Hobson was a stable keeper in Cambridge in the mid-1600s, and he had a system whereby each customer was obliged to take the horse nearest the door. They could "take it or leave it" - this became known as "Hobson's choice".

The reason I mention this is that Hobson's Conduit is also named after the same Thomas Hobson. This is a conduit built at that time (now a scheduled monument), which starts at Nine Wells near Great Shelford. From Long Road it runs through woodlands until it reaches Brooklands Avenue, then along Trumpington Street.

At Brooklands Avenue is a non-descript entrance to the footpath that leads to Trumpington, along Hobson's Conduit. It's just round the corner from the entrance to the Press, and I'd never taken it before now - I left it unexplored.

This time, though, I decided to explore, and I'm so glad I did! A hidden gem.

Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.