AfterDark

By AfterDark

Survival and the Ginger Tom

For the last 5 or 6 years we have had our evening's disturbed with the distress calls of mum and dad Blackbirds squealing out loud... And we always assumed it was the local cats prowling around their nest somewhere..

Now...Don't get me Wrong ! ..
I love bird song, the dawn chorus and church bells, it is one of the many reasons we moved away from city to rural village many years ago. However after a long day at work it' would be nice not to listen to blackbirds squealing in distress for two hours each and every night...!

Long story Shout..
this year or should I say this week.. we have had a baby blackbird living in OUR GARDEN and I have had the pleasure of watching MUM and DAD feeding this little one all day.. they have not bellowed out any distress calls even when I look in and try to photograph the little one.. well that was until 6am this morning ... I opened the back door to find A Ginger Tom Cat sniffing around my garden ... I charged out at full speed and chased him/her away .... !

No idea why the little baby is hiding out in my garden and where was the nest ? I just know it's been a treat to watch this story unfold so far..

Will the bloody cat get the baby blackbird ???
who knows ... but he/she has got to get past me 1st
thats if i am there..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.