Miss R Able

By MissRAble

A four generation bottle

My grandma always made juice syrup from oranges. 40 years ago I drank her juice that she stored in this bottle.

Now I´m drinking my daughters Black Elder Bloom Juice Syrup from it.
A four generation bottle!

I use to do this syrup every year. This year I missed the blooming because it was so early. I had too much job to do then. I´m happy she had the time, because I love it!

EDIT: The recipe (on request)

Black Elder Bloom Juice Syrup


40 sprays of Black Elder Bloom
2 kg sugar
2 lemons
60 g citric acid (ascorbic acid)
or acidity of wine

2 litre boiling water

When you pick the flowers, preferably a sunny day (hope you´ll have some), cut them just below where the small flowerstems are assembled.

Boil the water. Layer flowers - sliced lemons - sugar - acid in a jar or a bucket. Many layers! Then pour the boiling water over it and stir it. Put a towel on the jar so it won´t come dust or other things in it.

Then it shall be in the jar for 3-5 days. I use to have it for three days. You have to stir it carefully twice a day.

Then you filter it and put it on bottles. Fill them up and put them in the fridge. I use to have just some of it bottled. The rest I put in the freezer. It´s easy to take some freezed spoons of it directly in the water, or a teaspoon in your drink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.