LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"We’ve got to get out of this place"

I don't usually write posts like this, I usually like to keep things light and happy but today something so big happened that I can't ignore it. Our family home went up for sale, not by choice, but because of the banks wanting the house back because my dad has missed mortgage repayments. My dad has missed some payments because 3 years ago his roofing contractor business went into liquidation as he was unable to pay 1 monthly tax bill after 25 years of being able to pay them all before. As my dad was self-employed his is not entitled to any social welfare help even though he brought so much money into this country through his work, he did the roof and cladding on the National Basketball Arena and did the roof of all the Ballymun flats, which the government chose him to do. As my dad owns some properties that are in negative equity my mother is not entitled to any social welfare payments, even though she has been working since she was 14 years old. So, after two years of court cases trying to save our home that we have lived for 14 years and have paid over 400,000 euro worth of mortgage repayments so far, today the banks, yet again, won. I am welling up with tears here as I type this and that is the most surprising thing, as I really thought I was going to be alright with this as I am used to moving and living in different places but for some reason I am so upset. I think I am more upset for my parents who have worked so hard all their lives to make things as good as possible for me and my brother and now my lovely family home that my mam has made so beautiful is going to go to a bunch of strangers. I don't know the politics of the whole banking situation, nor the legalities of the court system nor the reasoning behind why the government won't help out my parents after all their contribution, but what I do know about is the human side of it. My dad should be looking forward to retiring, my mam should be able to sit back and enjoy her home and now they have to start from scratch. I am 33 years old and supporting my parents, I should be out living my life to the max, not sat in my room crying because I am powerless to help my parents who have helped me all my life. My brother should be out causing all sort of mayhem not working all the hours he can to hand up his money to keep a roof over our heads. I know things will be ok, they always are, we always make the most of everything, but just today, just right this moment, things aren't ok, not with me at least. So that's it. I'll be right again tomorrow, when I start looking for somewhere to live. Anybody want a house trained, scone making, good fun housemate?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.