Love, by George Herbert

Maundy Thursday

Love bade me welcome; yet my soul drew back,
Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning,
If I lack'd any thing.

A guest, I answer'd, worthy to be here:
Love said, You shall be he.
I the unkind, ungrateful? Ah, my dear,
I cannot look on thee.
Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,
Who made the eyes but I?

Truth, Lord, but I have marr'd them: let my shame
Go where it doth deserve.
And know you not, says Love, who bore the blame?
My dear, then I will serve.
You must sit down, says Love, and taste my meat:
So I did sit and eat.


An hour in the prayer room - we are doing a 24/3 - so peaceful.

All the family at daughter's, doing odd jobs. I hemmed the curtains, and almost made them too short... truly, "measure twice, cut once" is good advice.

A scare that her baby wasn't growing - a scan - some reassurance - but I gave into worry...

And then a tender Agape meal with 70 or so - and I spoke on this poem, and how Love says we MUST sit down (not serve) and taste His meat, and we should submit to that, however unworthy we feel. We ended being served Communion by the young folk - very special. They are all now praying through the night - I am heading for my comfortable bed - gratefully.

(Shame I didn't get the cup in focus, but felt inappropriate to be taking photos, and this is what I got.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.