todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

A real hero...

As I left my flat this morning and walked down the outside stairs, I could see a bin man crouching in my front doorway.

Not being the suspicious type, I assumed he was picking up some rubbish that had escaped from the bin. I smiled as I got to the bottom step, getting ready to thank him for his kindness.

As he stood up and turned to greet me, nestling in his huge, cupped, gloved hands, was a tiny bird.

He told me he'd found it, frightened, by the side of the road and thought he'd leave it behind the pillar on my stairs, hoping it would be well enough to fly off soon. When I told him I had two cats, who'd be out shortly, we settled on a plan. He'd take the bird in his bin lorry and drop it off in a safer place.

As he turned in the direction of the lorry I heard him say to the bird "you coming for a wee ride with me"

It was only 08.30 and he'd made my day already! Realising when they were gone that I should've blipped it, instead I give you a hand drawn bird by one of my holiday camp cherubs...

That gentle giant - he's my hero.

a real hero

Today outof10? A heart melting 8.7 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.