Sending Sunshine

I'm doing my bit to brighten up my own day and all of NZ as well. I've not been out the door all day - the weather is the pits.

This country (little as it is on a world scale) does have such extreme weather. Over the last two days and continuing today and tonight we are being buffeted by winds that we haven't had in a very long time along with heavy rain. Incessant! They call it the last wag of the tail of Cyclone Ita which had much to say in the Solomon Islands and North Queensland (my sons home). We haven't any damage as such, but on the West Coast many building have been demolished, flooding and landslides here in Canterbury.

As some of you know we have recently had our house re-roofed but the job hadn't quite been finished, short of a few nails (or something). Well last night the iron was flapping and making terrible noises. Doug went for a wander with the torch to see what was going on, but what can one do in the darkness, with howling winds and torrential rain. Today he has been up the ladder using some Kiwi ingenuity of some sort (I saw rope, wood). It was so bad that we had to move bedrooms and go to the other end of the house.

Enjoyed a lovely morning of much chatter with my friends from around the district - the Magic Cake (yesterday) was a hit - I dribbled Maple Syrup over it before serving.

Thats Good Friday almost over.....some rugby to watch tonight and hopefully some better weather tomorrow.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.