Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Odd Collections 9: Coronation Street

Now for a little secret. I have been a soap fan for most of my life and Coronation Street has been at the forefront since it started in 1960. I could do Mastermind on soaps from Crossroads, via Brookside, Eastenders, Neighbours, Hollyoaks, Prisoner Cell Block H, Home and Away, Albion Street, Eldorado through to my all time favourites Emmerdale and still Coronation Street.

So I have showcased the street I purchased at great expense in 1995. Each house cost £37.50 and that was a lot in 1995. I thought it might be worth money one day. However look closely at the photo and you will see why it won't fetch much now.

Basically once I had bought it, I showed it to my Mum, also a Corrie fan. I told her to be careful as the houses are not secured but she ignored me, tipped it up to look at it and it went tumbling to the hard granite floor tiles of the kitchen. Hence the 'chips' in the roof. Anyway it has been on my shelves every since.

I do have other Corrie memorabilia and photos including one of me outside the Rovers Return when it was open on Granada Tours but I thought I should showcase this. In order to create an illusion of reality I got my son to hold it up in the sun and I took a variety of angles. This is the end product. Perhaps welshmaid50 would like to ask J to put a bid in as a unique feature on his train lines!

Anyway the description of the houses is appended below to authenticate its provenance! Enjoy my latest collectable and have a joyous and relaxing weekend.

Coronation Street classic collectables

Copyright 1995.

Designed and created in the studios and workshops of John Hine Ltd Great Britain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.