weewilkie

By weewilkie

Ach! Bouverie bokeh

Drove my parents to Prestwick Airport this afternoon. They're off to Spain to spend a few weeks with my sister. I decided to take the coastal road back up to Glasgow, which seemed like a great idea till I hit Largs and some kind of occupation was going on.
The rest of the journey was sweet though. The clyde was that blue colour we use when we're wee and painting a river. It's usually never that colour, but today it was. Iridescent sparkle blue water.
Treated myself and son to a fish supper by the shoreside, then nipped into the Port for a quick Bouverie blip. It's a really striking block of tenements halfway up a hill. It overlooks the town, and is an image that has won an international photography award.
It suffered during the bombing raids of WWII, when German planes would try and obliterate the shipyards, but a large part of it still stands.
My Granny used to shout out "Ach! Bouverie!!" in frustration when she couldn't think of a word she was looking for.
Then we drove home. I've got the treat of a set of wheels for the next three weeks so I'm excited at the traveling potential in my up-coming blips. Watch this space.

Onwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.