hello : )

By 1DayataTime

interview anxiety

Thank you for the kind words yesterday when I was feeling quite grumpy.

I have known since Monday that I had an interview this morning. This is a good thing for sure, as I need a full-time job. And the organization is one I'd like to work for. Typically I prepare a fair amount for interviews, but due to family stress I just didn't do so this time around. I read the organization's website and did a few other things. I also planned to head to the library this morning to print out a few documents, but left my home without my new scrambled gmail password that is now required in the aftermath of the Heartbleed bug. And so I began to feel less and less prepared.

And the less prepared I began to feel, the more anxious I became. I decided that the most important thing was for me to arrive 10 min before the interview, so I opted not to return home to get my new scrambled password and decided to instead wing-it with regards to the interview - it turned out that the interviewer handed me the actual piece of paper that I was going to print out at the library!

And so I arrived in the parking lot about 20 minutes early and finished my breakfast and coffee. And became more anxious until... I remembered that I had my DSLR camera with me. That is when I started taking photos of the branches and trees that were right in front of where I parked. And as I took more photos I became less anxious. This is one of the photos I took before the interview.

The person who interviewed me and who would be my boss talked about how there will be a 2nd round of interviews and also reviewed the benefits with me, which seems to be a positive thing. The interview was a good experience and it truly is out of my hands in terms of who is selected for a 2nd interview and who is offered the job. So, I am going to use the positive energy from the interview experience and apply for more jobs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.