filledwithlight

By filledwithlight

A Quaker's Legacy

This gorgeous old building brings me so much joy. It's not just the stunning architecture and the impeccably well-kept grounds that make me smile, though those are certainly part of it. This, one of the top hospitals in the world, exists because a Quaker in the 1800s dedicated his considerable estate to the creation of a hospital in Baltimore to serve all.

And perhaps most meaningfully to me, one of this famous Quaker's descendent is one of my very favorite human beings in the world - a funny, kind, intelligent, caring person with a twinkle in his eye and whom I feel blessed to call my friend. Looking at this building makes me think about how profoundly one man's generosity has changed this city for the better, about my friend Jody, and about how proud Johns Hopkins would be to see how his gift has thrived and served not only his home of Baltimore, but the world.

Smiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.