Taylor Dam Outflow

It has stopped raining in Blenheim – for now anyway. There is much storm damage to roading around Marlborough, particularly in the Marlborough Sounds. Despite this we have been relatively lucky compared with other parts of the South Island.
The river still rages near where I walk the dogs. We had to stay on the true left bank and our walk was much shorter today. The river has attacked some of the berms and banks upstream of town and the more manicured areas. Roading and some tracks have been completely washed away. The cost of re-instating tracks and roading will be high.
After our walk I drove up to the Taylor Dam. The water in the flooded lake is dropping fast. It is still roaring out of the outflow but not nearly as dramatically as it was yesterday. I scrambled over the dam and down the track to the outflow. From there I negotiated my way to the riverbank... I got as close as I safely could. There I captured some images of the lake water pouring from the outflow and down into the river. As you can see the water from the lake is still clay-coloured from being scoured out of the hills well upstream but it is gradually clearing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.