Life of a toaster

By jivetoaster

Foula

The island in the haze is Foula, the remotest inhabited island in the British Isles. The Roman governor Agricola described a land called Ultima Thule, visible from his ships during their exploratory navigation of the British Isles. Some suggest that Foula was Ultima Thule.

I was in Shetland this weekend, meeting up with a former work colleague of my GF, who is now setting out to become a professional photographer. He was in the Shetlands to shoot puffins, so I flew up to get some tips, snap some myself, and see his camera gear.

We were at Esha Ness when I took this pic, scouting for locations. The cliffs and stacks in the Esha Ness area are remarkable, but it's not a great spot for birdlife. Possibly the volcanic rock here makes for poor nesting locations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.