Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Reed Bunting (Emberiza schoeniclus)

Popped out at dawn to one of only two RSPB reserves in the West Midlands at Middleton Lakes. Whereas I am usually the only one out at that time, the car park had half a dozen cars already parked. Intrigued, I walked down to the wetlands and asked one of the first people I saw. "There's a Glossy Ibis been reported" he answered. For someone who has difficulty separating a sparrow from a dunnoch this went straight over my head.

Anyway took the woodland walk passed very attractive bluebell glades and out onto the old sand and gravel pits, now returned for nature's use. Initially I was capturing landscapes but after a while I swapped the 16-35mm for the 600mm lens (just a bit of difference in weight!). Unfortunately as the sun was rising cloud spread from the east leaving fairly dull, flat lighting conditions.

I had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours walking around, exceept for a niggling pain in my knee. I've been referred to an orthopaedic surgeon and am expecting the dreaded news that an operation is needed to clean out the joint. I saw lapwings performing their amazing acrobatics, a ringed plover, nuthatches and various finches, but it was this reed bunting that took my eye.

It's certainly going to be a place I visit again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.